Double Happiness

16Nov09

The rain is falling in Vancouver at a venomous rate! I know, I know – living in Vancouver…you gotta put up with rain! I bought myself a new nifty umbrella that is bright green (well, more so that motorists actually see me when I try crossing the street!). On the job front, my prospects are looking up! I have a job interview on Friday (wish me luck) and I have another potential one, I’m just waiting to hear back from the recruiter…so here’s hoping!

Today, I came across this Asian inspired package design by Fiona Hewitt and Andy Tainton. Together they created the Dumpling Dynasty brand inspired by years spent living in Shanghai, Beijing and Hong Kong.

“Our products are a labour of love. Sought-out from lesser-known parts of China, we strive to personalize and re-create the sweet sentiment and attention to detail found in vintage Asian packaging design,” says Fiona Hewitt. “It is our hope that these products will make your life a little sweeter every time you use them.” quoted via DieLine.

Now, growing up in Vancouver and being a total banana … I can appreciate the artwork inspired by Chinese packaging design. This is a definite throwback to my childhood! I can recall artfully dodging the people in Chinatown, while having all of the merchants yell in Chinese that they were offering the best vegetable, fruit or fish (while waving the raw fish in your face). If you ever go into these stores in Chinatown…you’ll see a lot of these types illustrations. I love the Chinese kitschy value of the design coupled with a North American flare.

dynasty_Dumpling01

dynasty_Dumpling03

Ah – I can just smell the ginseng wafting in the air!

No Responses Yet to “Double Happiness”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

